Experience, Education, Excellence

This list is updated annually. If you are unable to reach an educator in your LHIN,
please contact the P.I.E.C.E.S. TM Collaboration Office

Ontario-Educators by LHIN Region

LHIN# LHINs Region Lead Educator Co-facilitators
1 Erie -St. Clair Lina DeMattia
ldemattia@alzheimerchathamkent.ca
Chatham-Kent:
Joanne Bartosek
Catherine Gadel
Sally Wilson
Lambton-Sarnia:
Shelley Hazzard
Renata Rabideau
Susan Boyce
Windsor-Essex:
Julie D’Alessandro
Julie Witcher
Jayne Brooks-Keller
Lisa Brouwer
Michael Cardinal
Buffy Diesbourg
Stephanie Laramie
Kelly Schiefer
2 South West – London & Middlesex Ann Jarvie
ann.jarvie@sjhc.london.on.ca
Kelly Hovorka
Carrie Howard
Katy Morrow
Alexis McDowell
Ashley Percival
Kimberly Schlegel
Alex Douglas
Brynn Roberts
2 South West – Grey Bruce Charlotte Bumstead
cbumstead@gbhs.on.ca
Heather Curry
Jackie Donaldson
2 South West – Oxford Dominique Stanley
dstanley@wgh.on.ca
Karen Cassells
2 South West – Huron Perth Kari-Lynn Gray
keri-lynn.gray@hpha.ca
Tracy D’Angelo
Joan Flanagan
2 South West – Elgin St. Thomas Deb Evans
devans@stegh.on.ca
3 Waterloo – Wellington Sharon Stap
Sharon.Stap@ww.ccac-ont.ca
Terri Adlam
Fatima Angela Caluag
Susan Gregg
Carla Malloy
Betty Perrin
Cathy Sturdy-Smith
Heidi Wagler
Jody Weiler
4 HNHB – Niagara Gail MacKenzie-High
gmackenzie-high@alzheimerniagara.ca
Stephanie Mackenzie
Emma Martin
4 HNHB – Hamilton Deb Bryson
dbryson@alzhh.ca
Marian Cummins
John Thomas
4 HNHB – Haldimand Brant Kathie Poitras
kpoitras@alzhn.ca
5 Central West Cheryl Graham
Cheryl.Graham@williamoslerhs.ca
Mandeep Bhullar
Teresa Judd
Michelle Marcucci
Christine Pellegrino
Jessica Stevenson
Yoko Tsuyuki
6 Mississauga – Halton Marion Penko
mpenko@stjosham.on.ca
Julia Baxter
Sherrie Cheers
Kim Dennis
Dana Garner
Linda Kallio
Dawn Robinson
Rene Turner
7 Toronto – Central Heli Juola
heli.juola@sunnybrook.ca
Gary Gallagher
Hazel Sebastian
Sangita Singh
Mario Tsokas
Adriana Caggiano
Anne Stephens
Penny Ascroft
8 Central Jennifer Sequeira
jennifer.sequeira@york.ca
Jennifer Blaik
Diana Pontes
9 Central East – Peterborough Marion Tabanor
mtabanor@prhc.on.ca
Robin Button
Rebecca Harvey
Salome Shyan
Kylie Szczebonski
Sarah Wilson
9 Central East – Durham Ron Ranin
raninr@ontarioshores.ca
Christine Wimhurst
9 Central East – Scarborough Kim Kurschinski
kkurschinski@tsh.to
Hazel Sebastian
Sangita Singh
Henrietta Yumang
10 South East – Kingston Pam Hamilton
hamilton@piecescanada.ca
Angela Dickieson
Ruth McDonnell
Darcy McKay
Nancy Timan
10 South East – Belleville Sherri Elliott
elliots1@providencecare.ca
Terry Holland
Samantha VanSlyke
10 South East – Brockville Debbie Steele
Steeled@providencecare.ca
11 Champlain Bonnie Daros
bonnie.daros@theroyal.ca
Deborah Gerbasi
Diane Gravel
Alice Koekkoek
Mary Prince
Nancy McDonell
Lubna Fawaz
12 North Simcoe Muskoka Maureen O’Connell
oconnellm@cgmh.on.ca
Kimberley Simpson
Annalee King
13 North East Monica Bretzlaff
monica.bretzlaff@nbrhc.on.ca
13 North East – Sudbury Manitoulin Hub Heather Hawrelluk-Sirois
heather.hawrelluk@nbrhc.on.ca
Roxanne Makela
Melanie Beaulieu
13 North East – Nipissing Temiskaming Parry Sound Hub Robert Spicer
Bob.Spicer@nbrhc.on.ca
Kelly Charbonneau
13 North East – Algoma Hub Emily Piraino
emily.piraino@nbrhc.on.ca
13 North East – Cochrane Hub Stephanie Bolduc
stephanie.bolduc@nbrhc.on.ca
14 North West – Thunder Bay Teresa Legowski
legowskt@tbh.net
Jenna Garlick
Sally Ten Hoeve
Tanya Baker
Sandra Dewsberry
14 North West – Fort Frances Gerri Yerxa
gyerxa@cmhaff.ca
14 North West -Dryden Lori Russell
lrussell@cmhaff.ca

 

Educator Qualifications

Educators for the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Learning & Development Programs will be health care professionals who have:

  • A University degree in a related health care field
  • A minimum of 5 years health care experience working with complex older adults
  • Completion of the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ 16-Hr Educator Program delivered by the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Consult Group and/or a designated P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Associate
  • Excellent interpersonal and communication skills
  • Experience in the facilitation of adult learning and the ability to create a dynamic learning environment
  • Extensive knowledge, skills and experience in the assessment/care planning for older adults and the use of clinical assessment tools as they relate to:
    • complex physical health problems including pain, chronic disease management, delirium, metabolic disorders
    • cognitive function and impairment including dementia as well as other neurological disorders (additional familiarity with ABI and developmental disabilities co-occurring with a dementia is preferable)
    • mental health care problems including mood disorders, anxiety, psychotic disorders with a variety of underlying causes, longstanding mental health illness including personality disorders, schizophrenia
    • familiarity with the use of psychotropics and the ability to facilitate a learning discussion about the selection, detection and monitoring of the 5 classes of psychotropics
  • An ability to facilitate a TEAM approach to assessment and shared solution finding, including management of high risk situations
  • An ability to draw upon his/her own knowledge and experiences to confidently respond to clinical questions/situations in-the-moment as they arise in the classroom learning
  • Excellent coaching skills and the ability to facilitate the development of these skills in others
  • The ability and support to facilitate a minimum of one P.I.E.C.E.S.™ 16-hour Learning & Development Program per year (delivered over 2 days usually separated by approximately 3 weeks to allow learners to complete a Practical Application)
  • Signed an Educator contract with the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Consult Group

There may occasionally be unique circumstances apart from the above eligibility criteria which the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Consult Group will consider on a case-by-case basis.

Given the core content of the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Learning and Development Programs, the Educators have typically been PRCs or Specialty Geriatric Services clinicians as their role requires knowledge and experience in complex clinical assessment/care planning and also the ability to coach these skills in others.

When PRCs and/or Specialty Geriatric Services clinicians are also P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Educators there is a significantly enhanced ability to assist learners to successfully integrate the P.I.E.C.E.S.™ approach when they return to work. Often P.I.E.C.E.S.™ Educators are also in a position to provide essential coaching in the use of the 3-Q Template when they are then working/consulting in their capacity as PRCs and/or Specialty Geriatric Services clinicians. The possibilities for enhancing the use of a common approach, common language are significantly increased